If you need to include other users in a task that you are responsible for, you can use the share task function to allow other users to collaborate with you. You can invite users to your task with different permissions: View, Edit, Perform, or Assign. This function may be useful if you need input from a colleague or if you are unable to perform your task.
In this article, we will explain how you share a task and the differences between the permission settings.
This function is not to be confused with the Replace user function which is used if the performer won't be able to perform his or her tasks for several instances.
How to share a task
Open the task you want to share.
Under the Complete task button, you find the symbol for sharing a task.
When you select it, a new window will pop up where you can invite users and groups, then select which permissions you want them to have.
When clicking on Invite users the user or group you added will get an email notification about your invite and can now participate in your task.
If you select Assign when giving permissions to another user or group, you will lose the performer rights on this and upcoming tasks. Assigning any other permission will allow you to keep your user rights.
The share task function can be disabled completely or partially via the Participant configuration for a specific role. In that case, only a user or a user in a group with Instance permissions set to Edit or Full Control can share the task.
This permission setting only allows the user to view the task. A user with this permission is able to see the task, but not to edit it. This permission can be assigned to any user that exists on the space.
This permission setting allows a user to view and edit the information in the form and save changes, they will not be able to complete the task. This permission can be assigned to any user that exists on the space.
If you want another user to be able to view, edit and complete your task you need to give them performer rights when sharing your task. When choosing this permission you can invite any user that exists on the space
Use the Assign permission if you can not perform the task and will not be able to perform your upcoming task in this instance. This will remove your right to perform this and upcoming tasks in the instance and instead give the invited user full rights to all tasks. When choosing this permission, you can, by default, only invite users that exist in the same role as you and are already assigned the role.
The difference between Assign and Perform permission is:
Perform gives another user the right to view, edit, and complete the task you are sharing, and you will still have the same permissions for this task. The invited user will not have permission to view, edit or complete upcoming tasks in this instance.
Assign gives another user rights to view, edit, and complete the task you are sharing and all upcoming tasks in this instance. You will lose all permissions to this and all upcoming tasks in this instance.
Role Mappers and Share Task
If you need to share a task where the performer has been assigned by a role mapper you will not be able, by default, to share the task with the Assign permissions. You can only assign specific role-mapped users. If you need to share the task with someone else in the space, you can either share the task with Perform permission or you can allow sharing tasks with all users in the space.
Allow sharing tasks with all users in the space
A user with administrative rights has to change the settings in the application configuration.
Go to Application configuration
and select the Advanced tab.
Scroll down until you see the checkbox Allow all space users when assigning performer.
The users will now be able to share tasks with Assign permissions to anyone in the space.
Share Task and User Filter
If there is a task with the performers filter Previous applied and you share the task with a user that was not originally configured as one of the users who can perform the task, there is a possibility that the process will get stuck. The reason for this is that the Perfomers filter: Previous overrules any other role assignment. So if an invited user or group outside the role completes the task, they will be considered the previous performer and will be assigned the next task with the performers filter Previous, even if they originally are not authorized to access the task. This means that the user or group originally assigned will lose the possibility to perform the task.
So even if a user from outside the pool of authorized users completes the task, they will then be considered the previous performer and will be assigned the task in the future instead of it being assigned to the previous performer within the pool of authorized users.
Example of the Performers Filter: Previous on a Task
To learn more, read about Performers filters in the article, Configuring a User Task.